Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Hey Gals! (and Guys?) Our Dear Amber is on her way to Africa again for Soles4souls. During her trip, she has to go through many different countries and climates.. sometimes It’s hard to pack accordingly so we decided to do a little blog post on Polished Packing! When you’re gone for awhile, it’s often hard to plan. These days, if you go via plane, you are charged a fee for every additional bag you bring so we have to plan and pack and that’s what Amber is going to show us how to do!

Amber: I like to bring a few staples that I can work with by layering and adding fun accessories like scarves or a hat. Since I’ll be in Africa, I like to bring “Play Clothes” These are the clothes I won’t mind sweating in and that’s bound to happen while I’m out distributing shoes and running from Zebras! We aren’t allowed to wear spaghetti straps or dresses above the knee, So I usually opt for a sturdy pair of boyfriend jeans. I pair these with a variety of T- Shirts.

In the Evenings, we will be in open air dining. I want to dress nicer for dinner but I still want to be comfortable. I need to have something that will not require fanciful shoes and something that will fold easily into a suitcase. So, I opt for maxi dresses. I can easily add scarves or my button up chambray shirt to them to mix the look up a bit as I progress through the week. I bring a couple of these with me because they’re so versatile and fit easily into my rather small suitcase!

When I’m in Africa, I like to dress the part so I packed my Safari inspired stretchy pants. I love these because they are in a neutral army green, so they look great with other neutral colors or bright colors! Plus, I look like I am a photographer for national geographic — so that’s always pretty cool. These pants are comfortable, packable and fashionable! I also wear these on the airplane to complete my Jet Setter Look! I add a scarf and fedora to spice it up!

So that right there is nine outfits and I STILL have room to spare in my suitcase. I may add a few more tops and then jewelry, shoes and of course my shower stuff and reading materials!

Remember, Pack lightly and appropriately — bring good staples and accessories. And Guess what? When you return, you’ll be SO glad you packed light! Why? Because you won’t have as much laundry to do!

Au Revoir!

